Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Alabaster by Chris Aslan April 25, 2017

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:54 pm
Tags: ,

About:

Maryam is stuck in an abusive marriage, living with her in-laws in a conservative, toxically religious village. A few years back, her father was given a jar of priceless perfume by a dying leper and it seemed as if their fortunes would improve, but then Maryam’s father contracted leprosy and was exiled from the village. Maryam and her siblings, Eleazar and Marta, experience the shame and ostracism this brings. The precious jar that was meant to bring them freedom has only brought destruction. But rumors abound concerning a new doctor; perhaps hope is on the horizon…
Alabaster brings a biblical-era Middle Eastern village and its culture to life for modern-day readers.
My thoughts:
This book will open your eyes to what life was like for those who suffered with leprosy and give you hope for the healing only Jesus can bring.
I have read the Bible several times. I read about the lepers and didn’t think too much of it. I didn’t think about the devastation that it brought to families or how families were torn apart because of the sickness. This book painted a picture that I will not soon forget.
I was immediately concerned for Maryam and the life she was apart of. I wanted a way of escape for her and could only hope it would happen somehow.
The author did a great time weaving the past with the present and making it come together in the end.
If you enjoy Biblical fiction I am sure you would like this book very much. I highly recommend it.
Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher. All opinions are my own. 
 

Leave a Reply

