Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: What Hope Remembers by Johnnie Alexander May 25, 2017

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 3:48 pm
Tags: ,

About:

When you need a new beginning, sometimes the best place to start is home

When Amy Somers leaves her job as a lobbyist, she moves to Misty Willow, well aware that she’s crossing bridges she’d burned years before. With all the mistakes she’s made and the things she’s done, she can hardly believe that happiness will find her–especially when Gabe Kendall, her first crush and her first kiss, rides back into her life atop a buckskin mare.

A former Marine, Gabe is at loose ends after serving a prison sentence for being in the wrong place at the wrong time. He sees beyond Amy’s hard exterior to the girl he once knew and loved, and he longs to see her open her heart. Yet with his vision clouded by shame for his past and fears about the future, it’s difficult to see the path ahead.

But the memory of that long-ago kiss just may have the power to reignite a romance that brings out the best in both of them.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I have loved this series. It is the third and each one has held me captive and I didn’t want to stop reading.

I wasn’t sure if I would like this book because Amy is not very likable at all in the previous books, although we do get to see her soften slightly at the end of the 2nd. She still isn’t overly likable at first in this book but as we get to know her and her brokenness we begin to sympathize with her and understand why she does the things she does.

Gabe is a great hero but with a past of his own that he isn’t proud of. He is drawn to Amy and I sensed a protectiveness in him early on. He would take care of her if she would let him.

I also enjoyed meeting up with the characters from previous books and seeing what was going on in their lives.

If you love a good romance I think you will enjoy this one.

Visit Johnnie here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by June 8 for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I will not replace books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher. All opinions are my own. 

 

6 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: What Hope Remembers by Johnnie Alexander”

  1. Trixi Says:

    I have two of Johnnie’s books and really enjoyed them! Since I love reunion stories, I’m certain I’d like this too. I’m glad it’s a stand-alone even though it’s the third one in a series. Thanks for the chance to win a copy of “What Hope Remembers” and for your lovely review!

    teamob4 (at) gmail (dot) com

  2. Judy Says:

    Because of your review, I checked out the other books on Amazon. It looks like an interesting series. Knowing you enjoyed it adds it to my TBR list. 🙂

  3. MH Says:

    Have been eyeing this book but never read anything by the author before. Would love to read it. Thanks for the giveaway!

  4. I haven’t read any of he books in this series yet, but I am definitely intrigued by this one where the heroine is not likeable and becomes that way. I love it when an author can change my opinion of a character. Thanks for the review and the giveaway!

  5. I love stories where old loves are rekindled. It’s a great reminder that God puts people in our lives for a reason.
    Dianna

  6. Melanie Backus Says:

    Love to read this one, for sure!


Leave a Reply

