Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Why Do People Go To Church? June 30, 2017

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 5:00 pm
Tags: ,

Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

I’ve been wrestling with this question for several months.

As the worship leader at my church I get to see everyone worship, or not. Which to be honest most people don’t look too happy when we are singing our songs.

I became very frustrated one Sunday as I sat before church looking around at the same people coming in, sitting in the same seats who will probably leave the service the same why they walked in.

I think people do want life change but they don’t want to do the work that it takes to make that happen. You can’t keep doing what you have always done and expect things to be different. You need to move.

Can God change your life without you moving?

Yes, of course. But I think it shows an act faith to move, to change something. He wants to know we are so hungry for Him we will do what it takes to move toward Him.

If after what my husband I went through if I had said I wanted to change but didn’t go to counseling, didn’t dive into the Word everyday, nothing would have changed. Jesus met me as I sought Him, I moved and I was changed. I’m not perfect, but I’m definitely not who I was.

So, why do people go to church? I don’t have an answer, maybe you do.

Why do I go to church? I love to worship Jesus with others. I want to be challenged, I want someone else to challenge me and give me things to think about that I can apply to my life and bring change in my life. I come into church with expectation. I expect something to shift in my heart each and every Sunday. 

As a worship leader I go to church because I want bring others to this place of awe and wonder. I lead by example and hope someone will catch on. I am the weird lady, I know that, I get super excited when I worship. I can’t help it, He is so amazing!!! And I wouldn’t be true to Holy Spirit if I tried to hold back, I would be quenching the Spirit and I never want to do that, although I am know there are times I do.

These are my rambling thoughts today, just something I needed to get off my heart. Hopefully it will encourage you to examine why you attend church each week and challenge you to move in faith.

 

 

2 Responses to “Why Do People Go To Church?”

  1. Judy Says:

    Something I’ve struggled with myself. I found church frustrating with the attitude that I was going to worship. I stepped back. I needed to adjust my definitions. There is worship in seeking God and His word, and there is worship and sharing a love for God with others who essentially believe as I do. My frustration stemmed from trying to do one during the other. Now, seeking God is what I do alone, with prayer and Bible. Sharing God’s love is what I do at church, fellowshipping with others. Still working on this.

  2. Coming together helps build us up, but if the only person building up is the pastor than there is something wrong.


Leave a Reply

