Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Freedom’s Price by Christine Johnson July 5, 2017

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:59 pm
Tags: ,

About:

Sometimes the hardest step to take is the first step forward

When Englishwoman Catherine Haynes loses both her father and her home in 1856, she decides to cross the Atlantic to find her American mother’s family in Louisiana. She enlists the help of Tom Worthington, a dashing Key West man who makes his living salvaging wrecked ships.

When Catherine arrives at the plantation, she finds that her family has left it in the care of a manager–who’s let it fall into disrepair. Torn between returning to Key West with Tom and beginning the hard work of restoring the plantation, Catherine soon finds herself snared in a plot to steal her inheritance. When an incredible secret comes to light, both she and Tom will face a choice: grip their dreams ever tighter or step forward in faith–even if it costs them everything.

My thoughts and giveaway: 

I have adored this series so I couldn’t wait for this newest installment. And this one has such a different feeling and plot to it.

For me the beginning was a bit slow, yet I understand why that first half of the book had to be there, it had to lay the ground work for the rest of the book. I could have easily put it down and walked away, I didn’t feel overly connected to the story…but then we get to the half way point and my reader brain was like, “Yes, this is what I have been waiting for.”

Catherine is a strong character who wants to find the truth. Tom is a strong hero who wants to seek justice. Together they make a great team.

The mystery surrounding Catherine’s family I found so interesting. I couldn’t wait for the truth to be revealed. That definitely drove the second half of this book.

If you enjoy historical romance with a mysterious setting you will like this one.

Visit Christine here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by July 12th for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I will not replace books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher. All opinions are my own. 

 

18 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Freedom’s Price by Christine Johnson”

  1. kim hansen Says:

    Sounds like a good read.

  2. MH Says:

    Haven’t read the series but have heard so much about this book and would love to read. Thanks for the great review.

  3. I’m glad you said that the second half gets more interesting. Sometimes I doubt if I should finish a book that doesn’t seem to have much potential.
    Dianna

  4. Melanie Backus Says:

    I would love to read this book. The cover is captivating. Thank you for the opportunity.

  5. carylkane Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful series! Thank you for the chance!

  6. Trixi Says:

    I have the first two books and I would absolutely LOVE to add this one to my collection, thank you for the chance. And also for your review 🙂

  7. Amanda T. Says:

    Great review, sounds like an intriguing read.

  8. Brenda Murphree Says:

    My very favorite genre! This sounds like a great book. I would love to win a copy! Thanks for the giveaway!

  9. wendynewcomb Says:

    Sounds like something I will enjoy, thank you for the chance to win a copy.

    wfnren at aol dot com

  10. Cathy Says:

    Interesting time period, pre Civil War. I always enjoy historical fiction and appreciate the review and opportunity.

  11. janet estridge Says:

    Romance and Mystery, what a great combination.

  12. pattymh2000 Says:

    I have not read any of this series, but it sounds good.

  13. Martha Peace Says:

    Would love to win

  14. agboss777 Says:

    I LOVE historical fiction and Freedom’s Price has intrigued me since the first time I heard about! Thanks for your great review! You have made me want to read it even more. 😊 And thanks for the opportunity of this giveaway!

  15. Paula S. Says:

    This one sounds intriguing. I have the first one on my iPad. Thanks for the chance to win.

  16. donnabrookmyer Says:

    This sounds like a great book! I really like the cover. Thanks for the review and giveaway.


Leave a Reply

