Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Bread of Angels by Tessa Afshar July 10, 2017

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 2:06 pm
Tags: ,

About:

Purple. The foundation of an influential trade in a Roman world dominated by men. One woman rises up to take the reins of success in an incredible journey of courage, grit, and friendship. And along the way, she changes the world.

But before she was Lydia, the seller of purple, she was simply a merchant’s daughter who loved three things: her father, her ancestral home, and making dye. Then unbearable betrayal robs her of nearly everything.

With only her father’s secret formulas left, Lydia flees to Philippi and struggles to establish her business on her own. Determination and serendipitous acquaintances―along with her father’s precious dye―help her become one of the city’s preeminent merchants. But fear lingers in every shadow, until Lydia meets the apostle Paul and hears his message of hope, becoming his first European convert.

Still, Lydia can’t outrun her secrets forever, and when past and present collide, she must either stand firm and trust in her fledgling faith or succumb to the fear that has ruled her life.

My thoughts and giveaway:

Oh. My. This book is amazing!!! I haven’t read a book that has touched me spiritually in a long time. And this fiction book managed to do that.

This was a book that drew me in and didn’t let go and I didn’t want it to let me go even when I reached the last page.

I had to keep reminding myself that Lydia had no belief in God at the beginning. She was so kind through the whole book but she had no faith.

Paul doesn’t show up in the book for a long time but when he does he is brought to life in a way I have never felt before.

I also loved how characters from the previous book  that Tessa wrote (Land of Silence) were brought into this one, and the realization hat Lydia made an appearance in that book and I didn’t even know it.

I really can’t say enough about this book. It is deeply touching, it will remind you of the freshness of the gospel and how we need to always keep that in the forefront of our minds.

Visit Tessa here. 

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by July 17th for your chance to win a copy. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I will not replace books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher. All opinions are my own. 

 

23 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Bread of Angels by Tessa Afshar”

  1. kim hansen Says:

    Sounds like a good read.

  2. I love Tessa Afshar’s books! I haven’t read this one but I know it has to be an awesome read! Thanks for the opportunity to win it!
    Blessings!
    Joy. ibjoy1953 at yahoo dot com

  3. Being a woman during Biblical times must have been so hard!
    Dianna (dedezoomsalot at yahoo dot com)

  4. Elly Says:

    Been dying to read this! Excited about this giveaway!
    Elly -Indiana-

  5. MH Says:

    Biblical fiction has to be my favorite genre. And Tessa Afshar does it so incredibly well. Would love to read this book.

  6. Mardelle Says:

    Very interesting review. I am interested in reading this tho I am not familiar with the author.

  7. Jackie Smith Says:

    I am so anxious to read this….hear so much about her books and plan to read them all! Thanks for your giveaway!
    jacsmi75 at gmail dot com

  8. pattymh2000 Says:

    I don’t think I have ever read anything by Tessa, or read much biblical fiction. Thanks for the review and giveaway!

  9. Melanie Backus Says:

    Thank you for this opportunity. I would really love to read this book.
    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  10. Martha Peace Says:

    Sounds like a.good book.woulb love to win

  11. carylkane Says:

    Wonderful review, Melissa! Tessa is a new-to-me author. Thank you for the chance.

  12. Trixi Says:

    I’ve heard a lot of great things about this authors writing! Biblical fiction is quickly becoming one of my favorite genres.
    Thank you for the review and giveaway chance!

  13. Would love to read this. Sounds wonderful and beautiful cover.


Leave a Reply

