Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

As High As The Heavens by Katie Breslin July 13, 2017

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:24 pm
Tags: ,

About:

Page-Turning Intrigue and Romance from an Up-and-Coming Historical Romance Talent

In 1917, Evelyn Marche is just one of many women who has been widowed by the war. A British nurse trapped in German-occupied Brussels, she spends her days working at a hospital and her nights as a waitress in her aunt and uncle’s café. Eve also has a carefully guarded secret keeping her in constant danger: She’s a spy working for a Belgian resistance group in league with the British Secret Service.

When a British plane crashes in Brussels Park, Eve is the first to reach the downed plane and is shocked to discover she recognizes the badly injured pilot. British RFC Captain Simon Forrester is now a prisoner of war, and Eve knows he could be shot as a spy at any time. She risks her own life to hide him from the Germans, but as the danger mounts and the secrets between them grow, their chance of survival looks grim. And even if they do make it out alive, the truth of what lies between them may be more than any love can overcome.

My thoughts:

I loved Katie’s first too books so I was very excited when this book came out. Honestly, it didn’t’ even matter to me what it was about because it was by Kate.

Eve is a woman with great strength and takes risks to do what she believes is right and help those who need it.

Simon is equally determined but finds himself in situations where he can’t do much.

I really wanted to love this book. I told myself to keep reading, keep reading, something will grab you. And sometimes things did grab me but I never really connected with this story and I really wanted to. I’m not even sure what is was. There is a lot going on, there’s never a dull moment but I never fell into the story to the point where I was unable to put the book down.

There are a lot of good things in this book but for some reason this one didn’t connect with me. As always, this is my opinion only.

Visit Kate here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

A copy of this book was given to me through Netgalley.com. All opinions are my own. 

 

One Response to “As High As The Heavens by Katie Breslin”

  1. carylkane Says:

    Excellent review, Melissa!


Leave a Reply

