Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Healing Love by Jennifer Slattery July 18, 2017

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:10 pm
Tags: ,

About:

A news anchor intern has it all planned out, and love isn’t on the agenda.

Brooke Endress is on the cusp of her lifelong dream when her younger sister persuades her to chaperone a mission trip to El Salvador. Packing enough hand sanitizer and bug spray to single-handedly wipe out malaria, she embarks on what she hopes will be a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

But Brooke is blindsided by the desperation for hope and love she sees in the orphans’ eyes. And no less by the connection she feels with her handsome translator. As newfound passion blooms, Brooke wrestles with its implications for her career dreams.

Ubaldo Chavez, teacher and translator, knows the struggle that comes with generational poverty. But he found the way out – education – and is determined to help his students rise above.

When he agrees to translate for a mission team from the United States he expects to encounter a bunch of “missional tourists” full of empty promises. Yet an American news anchor defies his expectations, and he finds himself falling in love. But what does he have to offer someone with everything?

My thoughts (this book releases on July 20th):

Um. Yeah. I loved this book.

I wasn’t sure what I would think of this book at the beginning. I have never been on a mission trip and was wondering how you could make an interesting story of someone going on one. I was silly to worry. Jennifer managed to do it.

And that is what I love about all of Jennifer’s books. She writes about missions in some way and weaves a wonderful plot and characters into that. She definitely has a unique style unlike any I have ever read and she does it well.

It’s funny, much of the story takes place with the two main characters not even together but in the short amount of time they are you know they belong together.

Fatima and Dinora captured my heart and I wanted them so desperately to see who they really were through Christ’s eyes. Their story alone is heart breaking and unfortunately all too true of what is actually happening today in the world.

Our main characters are wonderful too, both dealing with their own struggles, finding who they are as well.

I just have to mention Aubrey, Brooke’s sister, Jennifer did a great job depicting a teen-age girl (I know I live with one). Her attitude, she thinks knows everything. Great job.

By the end I was crying and that is the mark of a great book. Jennifer managed to touch my emotions with this one.

Visit Jennifer here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, pre-order (only $2.99) @ Amazon  or your favorite retailer.

A copy of this book was given to me by the author. All opinions are my own. 

 

2 Responses to “Healing Love by Jennifer Slattery”

  1. Your review is such an encouragement to me! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this story! I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

  2. carylkane Says:

    Great review, Melissa! I enjoy Jennifer’s stories!


Leave a Reply

