Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: With You Always by Jody Hedlund August 28, 2017

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:50 pm
Tags: , ,

About:

Could Following the Opportunity of a Lifetime Cost Them the Love of Their Lives?

One of the many immigrants struggling to survive in 1850s New York, Elise Neumann knows she must take action to care for her younger sisters. She finds a glimmer of hope when the New York Children’s Aid Society starts sending skilled workers to burgeoning towns out west. But the promise of the society’s orphan trains is not all that it seems.

Born into elite New York society, Thornton Quincy possesses everything except the ability to step out from his brother’s shadow. When their ailing father puts forth a unique challenge to determine who will inherit his railroad-building empire, Thornton finally sees his chance. The conditions to win? Be the first to build a sustainable community along the Illinois Central Railroad and find a suitable wife.

Thrown together against all odds, Elise and Thornton couldn’t be from more different worlds. The spark that ignites between them is undeniable, but how can they let it grow when that means forfeiting everything they’ve been working toward?

My thoughts and giveaway:

I haven’t met a Jody Hedlund book I haven’t liked 🙂 This new series starts off with a bang.

First, I love the research Jody books into her books. I learn new things from her writing and if you read the authors notes at the end you can understand even more.

Elisa is a wonderful character. I loved her sarcasm and sometimes snarky attitude. I also appreciated that she was real about her relationship with Jesus. She had pulled away, but the message in the book is that He never pulled away from her. The title has a double meaning which I find beautiful.

Thorton…what’s not to love. What a fantastic hero, most of the time. He has his faults of course but he is a great guy.

I found myself with tears in my eyes a couple of times, a true sign that this book was touching my heart. And most of that came for the other characters in the book and their love for Elise and Thorton.

I am really curious about the upcoming books and who will be featured in them. There was unsolved story lines in this book so I am hoping those will get resolved later in the series.

Visit Jody here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by September 11th for your chance to win a copy of this book. One winner will be chosen by random.org. (U.S. addresses only. I will not replace books lost or damaged in the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher. All opinions are my own. 

 

24 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: With You Always by Jody Hedlund”

  1. gobers2013 Says:

    I have enjoyed books I have read by Jody in the past and would love to win a copy of this one. Thanks for the chance! 😊

  2. MH Says:

    Would love to read this book! Thanks for the opportunity. She is quite a wonderful author, isn’t she? 😀

  3. ELMA BROOKS Says:

    Love Jody Hedlund books..would love to win a copy of this one.
    Thank you for the review and giveaway.

  4. I would love to read this book. I enjoyed your review!

  5. Lori Smanski Says:

    oh my this sounds like it will be a wonderful series. I look forward to it.

  6. Charis Zdrojewski Says:

    I would love to win!!

  7. Pam K. Says:

    I always enjoy Jody’s books. I knew about the Orphan Trains but didn’t know about skilled workers being sent west in a similar way. Thanks for your review and the giveaway. I’d love to win.

  8. Tammy Nelson Says:

    would love to win!!

  9. Trixi Says:

    I’ve read & reviewed this one, but I am happy to share the giveaway on FB and twitter! 🙂

  10. Lis K Says:

    I haven’t read a recent Jody Hedlund book lately but this one sounds great, thanks for the giveaway!

  11. Meredith Miller Says:

    Great review! and gorgeous cover!

  12. lorsna Says:

    I love Jody Hedlund’s books! She always has a way writing about historical places and times I don’t know enough about and brings them to life so well. Thanks for the chance to win!

  13. pam1lunsford Says:

    I would love to read Jody’s book and also learn more about these orphan trains.

  14. Paula Says:

    One of my favorite authors. She has a way with a story!

  15. Thank you for the review! I love Jody Hedlund’s books as well. Every one I’ve read is just awesome!
    And thanks for offering the giveaway!
    Blessings Joy ibjoy1953 at yahoo dot com

  16. Patty Says:

    I haven’t read all of Jody’s books, but enough of them to know she is a great author! I enjoyed the free prequel novella to this series.

  17. carylkane Says:

    Hey Melissa! I LOVE Jody’s Hedlunds’s books. I’m so excited to read her new series! Thank you for the chance.
    psalm103and138 at gmail dot com

  18. Cathy Says:

    I always greatly enjoy Jody’s books and the detailed research involved in her historical settings. I had heard of and read, to some extent, about the orphan trains, but I wasn’t familiar with the same concept used to find workers in growing towns to the west.

  19. Elly Says:

    I LOVE Jody Hedlund! Looking forward to this one!
    Elly -Indiana-
    jcservantslaveATicloudDOTcom

  20. kim hansen Says:

    Love Jody’s books.

  21. Maryann Says:

    I love reading historical fiction and this sounds like a great book from Jody that I would love to read.

  22. Becky Says:

    I love Jody’s books! Would definitely love to read this one 🙂

  23. I enjoy J. Hedlund’s books! This cover is beautiful.
    Dianna

  24. deanne01 Says:

    Beautiful review. I have been looking forward to reading this book for months.This is the type of book I have been looking for for a long time, a must read! Thank you for the giveaway opportunity!

    Cnnamongirl at aol dot com


Leave a Reply

