Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Week Six on my Journey to Health September 1, 2017

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 2:12 pm

I have completed six weeks of exercise and healthy eating. I am discovering new recipes that are yummy and healthy and some that are healthy but not so yummy, oh well, we won’t be making those again.

This week was a challenge as I had to go back to work. I am getting up at five in the morning to exercise and then doing my devo. Getting up to workout is not fun, I don’t want to do it but I am seeing the benefits and I never regret is afterwards.

I know this isn’t about loosing weight but I  have gotten on the scale and I have lost nine pounds so far. I really believe changing the way I eat is having a greater impact then the exercise but I don’t really know. But I believe exercising is extremely important. I think the combination of both have contributed to the fast weight loss.

The thing that sort of frustrates me is that no one has noticed and just as I think those thoughts I watch a video from Faithful Workouts and Michelle talks about whose glory am I doing this for. It was a great reminder that it doesn’t matter if people notice if I’ve lost weight or not, I am doing this for God’s glory, so I can be healthy and live a longer life and be with my future grandchildren and enjoy retirement with my husband and share the love of Jesus with others.

Here are some yummy recipes I have really enjoyed one for breakfast and one for a snack.

This one is an overnights oats recipe. I  have tried overnight oats before and didn’t like them but this recipe is so good. Click here.

This one is for a snack. I ended up rolling these up into balls. Make sure you actually use the food processor and not the blender, I ended burning mine up . . . long story. They taste like apple pie but so good for you. It satisfies that sweet craving I get at night. Click here.

I love eating things God created in it’s most natural state, He really did know what He was doing when He created the earth, why have we gone to such lengths to change it and put it in boxes? But we tend to do that with God don’t we, we put Him in a box or at least try to. Hmmm . . . something to think about.

Have a great Labor Day weekend!!

 

2 Responses to “Week Six on my Journey to Health”

  1. Thanks 4 the sweet cravings recipe (I know I have plenty of those. I love your comment about how we can eat healthy to live for JESUS so we may witness to others. I usually hear about keeping the temple healthy, but not for other’s soul sakes.

  2. Aw, don’t feel bad about no one saying anything about the weight loss. Someone probably noticed but didn’t want to ask. I’m hesitant to ask about it when I think someone has lost weight — I guess I feel like it will make them feel on-the-spot.


Leave a Reply

