Genesis 5020

Stories for His Glory

Other Bodies by Joel Ohman March 19, 2019

Filed under: Book Reviews,Uncategorized — Melissa Finnegan @ 5:20 pm
Tags:

other-bodies-cover-196x300.jpg

About:

For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent comes a YA dystopian/light romance with a strong female protagonist who is forced to question everything…

In a world where immersive VR suits distort what is real from what is not, and the AI Personhood Act blurs the lines between body and bot, the choices sixteen-year-old Hattie Martins faces are very personal.

Welcome to Hattie Martins’ dystopian Philadelphia, where everything is not as it seems…

Just as her life is looking up–a new job, new friends, a new date–Hattie discovers not all progress in her beloved, futuristic Philadelphia is for the best. Societal regrets can become personal regrets in an instant. Choices don’t always come with second chances, and when they do the cost can be unimaginable. How far will she go to undo her greatest regret? And worse yet, what will she become if it’s too late?

In a world where bots are equal to bodies, what does it mean to be alive?

What is real?

Which bodies matter?

What about the other bodies?…

In this blistering new young adult novel from the #1 bestselling author of the Meritropolis series, readers will question everything they know about life and reality in a unique dystopian adventure that is equal parts moral dilemma and romance.

If you enjoy Veronica Roth, James Dashner, or Suzanne Collins then this is the story of the year you won’t want to miss. BUY NOW.

*Subject matter includes references to euthanasia, abortion, and teenage pregnancy. There are NO sex scenes and NO curse words. This is a stand-alone book with a complete story from beginning to end. There are NO cliff-hangers and this is NOT a part of a series.*

My thoughts:

Loved this. Not that this was a warm-fuzzy book. It definitely was not.

The picture the author paints of babies after they have been aborted is heart breaking and all too vivid. I just couldn’t help but think that if someone read this they would rethink their pro-choice stance.

However, he did a great job of making the reader understand the thought processes that a teen might go through when she finds out she is pregnant. It can look hopeless. But there is always another way.

This has that dystopian feel yet I could easily relate to the characters and what they were going through. I highly recommend this book.

Grab your copy at your local book store, Amazon, or your favorite retailer.

A copy of this book was given to me. All opinions are my own. 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s