Genesis 5020

Stories for His Glory

Write to the Point with June Foster June 19, 2013

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:18 pm
Tags: , , ,

Today we get write to the point with June Foster. She has a Genesis 5020 to share today. I love her story because she found a Genesis 5020 not in a death, or affair, or something like that but in something we all use everyday (if you are reading this blog you are using it). So sit back and enjoy her Genesis 5020. Read to the end, she has a giveaway for you.

100_5798Up until last fall, my husband and I traveled full time in our RV. The lifestyle is an exciting adventure with plenty of opportunities to meet wonderful people and see the US. We experienced historical sites, national parks, and the beauty each state has to offer.  However, one frustrating aspect of RVing is the variation in internet access. And any author can tell you how much we depend on the web.

In El Paso, I had one of the most frustrating experiences. I depended on my Sprint Air Card, which served me well in most locations. But not so in this city situated in the corner of western Texas. I wanted to believe the people at the Sprint store who said they had no idea why I couldn’t get the internet, but it still didn’t work. I had to give up any thought of visiting Facebook or Twitter, much less working with my critique group.

Looking back, I see the frustration and hopelessness that plagued me. The enemy probably delighted in my angst.  But in the midst of the situation, the Lord reminded me to depend on Him alone and rest in His peace.

Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself. It must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.

I wound up getting a lot done on my work-in-progress as well as learning to trust the Lord and enjoy His peace.

The situation helped me learn that above all, I can rely on  Him. The internet was not the answer, but the Lord. Trust in the Lord with all you heart and He will direct your paths. 

“You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done.”

June Foster is a retired school teacher with a BA in Education and a MA in counseling. She writes full time and travels in her RV with her husband Joe. June has written four novels for Desert Breeze Publishing. The Bellewood Series, Give Us This Day – February 1, 2012, As We Forgive – September 1, 2012, and Deliver Us – April 1, 2013, and Hometown Fourth of July – July 1, 2012.  June loves to write stories about characters who overcome the issues in their lives by the power of God and His Word. June uses her training in counseling and her Christian beliefs in creating characters who find freedom to live godly lives. June’s book, Ryan’s Father, will be published by WhiteFire Publishing January 2014.

You can find June’s blog by clicking here.

Below you will find a blurb from June’s book, Deliver Us, and an excerpt from the book. Leave a comment for June by June 25th at 5:00 pm to be entered to win an ebook copy of her book.

You can find her book at Amazon, Barnes and Noble or Desert Breeze.

Short blurb

The fraternity co-ed who coaxed Jillian Coleman upstairs that night is no more than a blur in her memory, but the consequences will haunt her forever. Ten years later,DeliverUsCoverArt72dpi (1) Riley Mathis, now a Christian, can’t tell Jillian he’s the father of the child she aborted. The truth will destroy them.

Excerpt

A man on his knees with his back to her scrubbed the tile with a large brush. His muscular shoulders visible through his brown janitor’s shirt tensed and relaxed with every stroke. She’d never seen a custodian put so much effort into his work as he sank the bristles into the tiles.

He stood and pulled his mop from the back of his cart. With long swipes, he drew the sponge over the suds, and rinsed it in the clear water of his red plastic pail. When he glanced up, their eyes connected.

Riley? Her pulse jolted. Did he work…?

The door to the OR flew open, and Jett walked out. He removed his mask and shrugged his shoulders. Without slowing his pace, he whisked past her and lowered his voice. “A lucky call this time, Jillian.”

Lucky call? How could he say that? A precious life had held in the balance.

Jillian’s exhausted body folded into a chair at the end of the hall near the OR. The pent-up emotion wouldn’t wait any longer. A baby had almost died today. Sobs shook her shoulders.

“What… what did you say to her?” A quiet masculine voice muttered. With a few steps forward, Riley peered at Jett. “I think you owe her an apology.” He dropped his gaze to the floor.

“What the…” Jett drew his fist in front of him.

In disbelief, Jillian stood transfixed.

Jett glared at Riley, tapping his chest over and over. “Who do you think you are, you lowlife?”

 She bit her lip and rushed to them, grasping Jett’s arm. This couldn’t be happening.

With an easy shake, Jett brushed her away. He curled his lip and grabbed the front of Riley’s shirt with both hands. “This is none of your business.” He released Riley, placed his palms on his chest, and shoved him hard.

When Riley lost his footing on the wet floor, he stumbled backward and landed on his rear-end. Scrambling to his feet, he glanced back at the area he’d cleaned. He shook his head. “And I deserve to be fired. I’m sorry.”

“Riley, wait.” Jillian took a few steps toward the men again. “Jett, calm down.”

She worked her way between Jett glaring at Riley who hung his head like a bad dog. “Why did you say that to Dr. Camp?”

“I…I thought he said something that upset you.” Riley lifted tortured eyes. “Your face paled.”

Riley must’ve thought Jett spoke an offensive word to her. Her heart softened. He had only wanted to shield her from pain. To protect her. Compassion for the man, even concern, built in her. The sweet guy thought he was doing the right thing.

 Jett held two fists in front of his chest, still on guard.

“Riley is a friend.” She blew out a breath.” I’d appreciate it if you didn’t make an issue of it. He misunderstood the situation.”

But had Riley actually misunderstood Jett’s intensions? What Jett said had hurt her. A lucky call.

 “A friend?” Jett shrugged. “Yeah, whatever.” He pressed past her. “Forget it. I wouldn’t want to see his minimum wage check yanked away from him.”

 

15 Responses to “Write to the Point with June Foster”

  1. June Foster Says:

    Melissa, thank you so much for featuring me on your blog. It was a pleasure.

  2. Rose Milligan Says:

    This sounds like a great book. Thanks for having the giveaway.

    harnessrose(at)yahoo(dot)com

  3. This sounds like a great book. Thanks for this opportunity.

    clSwalwell@gmail.com

    In Him,

    Cheri 🙂

  4. Hey, Melissa…nice interview. I enjoy June. She and her hubby are living an exciting life with their motor home. I’m sorry to hear about the connection problems, and you sure need that in whatever corner! 🙂 It’s reassuring the read the verses from God’s word that were of comfort to you, June. Where are you off to next? Blessings on your travels.

  5. Cindy Loven Says:

    Great article/interview with June..I love her books, and June is a sweetheart. I already have the book, so I don’t need entered into the contest, but just wanted you to know I saw your post on ACFW and came over from your link.

  6. jenlhall63 Says:

    I’d love a copy of Deliver Us. jenlhall63 (at) gmail (dot) com

  7. Veronica S. Says:

    This sounds very interesting! I’d love to win.

  8. […] to the point with June Foster. She shared a Genesis 5020 with us last year. You can check it out here. She shares about her newest book which tackles a very difficult subject and she is giving away a […]


Leave a comment