Genesis 5020

Stories for His Glory

Pulling Back the Shades April 7, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:24 am
Tags: ,

pulling pack the shades

Puling Back the Shades

by

Dannah Gresh and Dr. Juli Slattery

About:

Christian women don’t have to choose between being sexual and spiritual. They have legitimate longings that the Church has been afraid to talk about, and books like Fifty Shades of Grey exploit. Whether you are single or married, sexually dead or just looking to revive your sex life, Pulling Back the Shades will address your desire to be both sexual AND spiritual. With solid Biblical teaching and transparent stories, trusted authors Dannah Gresh  and Dr. Juli Slattery, offer an unflinching look at the most personal questions women ask. The book offers practical advice for women to address five core longings:

  • to be cherished by a man
  • to be protected by a strong man
  • to rescue a man
  • to be sexually alive
  • to escape reality

God designed women with these longings and has a plan to satisfy them. It’s time for women to identify their intimate longings and God-honoring ways to fulfill them.

My thoughts:

I believe this is a much needed book. I am sure there are many Christian women, married and single, who are being deceived by erotica such as Fifty Shades of Gray. The devil is tricking married women into thinking it will help their marriage and single women into thinking this is an outlet to keep them pure. These are lies.

God even convicted me to stop reading Nicholas Sparks, which isn’t erotica but does have sexual content that made me feel and think things that were not holy (I know other women can read this type of book and they are fine, this is God’s conviction for me me). I know there are even women who won’t read Christian romance because it makes them think about things they shouldn’t.

But honestly, I believe erotica is a no brainer. That is not from God at all. Here’s how I would look at it: If I knew Jesus was standing over my shoulder  looking at what I was reading (which He is, nothing is hidden from Him) would I be embarrassed?

This book addresses many issues. These authors did a wonderful job of tackling some very tough topics but in a loving way. Not only do they address these issues but they give you ideas for ways to move on and get help. And for those of us who don’t struggle with this type of thing they give us ideas how we can help these women who are desperate for love.

I was not bored one moment in this book. Dannah and Juli have written a highly informative and engaging book. I highly recommend this one.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Visit Juli’s website here.

Visit Dannah’s website here.

A copy of this book was given to me in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

2 Responses to “Pulling Back the Shades”

  1. Judy Says:

    I’ve been looking for a book like this. I also chose not to read “50.” I’ve been cutting authors from my reading list as they lean more toward erotica. I’ve felt so alone in the decision. I ordered the book. Thanks, Melissa.


Leave a comment