Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review: Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel by Ginger Garrett April 22, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:01 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

cover27747-small

Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel

by

Ginger Garrett

From the back cover:

Beyond the Drama, Her Heart Was Real
 
From the moment her marriage to prince Ahab thrusts her into the intrigues of palace life, Jezebel’s exotic beauty opens doors and her will breaks down walls. Torn from her homeland and wed to power in a strange country, Jezebel vows to create a legacy and power all her own. Some might call her a manipulative schemer, bent on having her way. But they don’t know the whole story, and she was much, much worse. As she moves through the halls of power, her heart struggles between devotion to the gods she worships, the prince who loves her, and her thirst for revenge. She sparks a battle between her strangely powerless gods and the God of palace administrator Obadiah—a God who confronts her with surprising might. She will fight, though victory may cost her everything.
 
My thoughts:
 
When I first saw this book I hesitated to read it. One of the first rules of writing is to write about characters who are likeable. I have read the story of Jezebel in the  Bible and I knew I didn’t like her already. But curiosity won out. I wondered how the author, Ginger Garrett, would make Jezebel a sympathetic character.
 
As I read I found myself having mixed emotions about Jezebel. The back story Ginger gives her helped me better understand Jezebel’s brokenness and even feel sorry for her at times. Other times she made me so angry, but never to the point I wanted to put the book down.
 
Ginger has managed to take a very unlikable person and pull me into her story, along with her husband, Ahab and his assistant, Obadiah.
 
Jezebel is like the rest of us, broken and looking for hope. Her hope is misdirected, as ours can often be. She places her hope of finding love in a false god and not Yahweh. But don’t we do that even now? Maybe not with something we call a god but with things, people or relationships? We hope to find love in things that were never meant to love us completely, that can never satisfy us.
 
Only God completely satisfies us and Jezebel rejects Yahweh. She does ask some questions I am sure we have all asked. How could God withhold rain from a people He claims to love? She notes the other consequences God unleashed on the Israelites in the past. But we know we serve a just God, not a God who is okay with making sure we are comfortable all the time, He is more concerned with growing our character.
 
This is not a light read in any way. Heavy stuff happens and things we find repulsive (such as the sacrifice of infants) as Jezebel’s people worship her god.
 
Overall I loved this book, I had trouble putting it down. I know the story but I wanted to read how Ginger would portray the events. 
 
This book does not release until May 1st, so add it to your wish list or pre-order it now.
 
To order from Amazon click here.
 
To order from Barnes and Noble click here.
 
To order from Christianbook.com click here.
 
To visit Ginger’s website click here.
 
An ebook of this book was given to  me through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.
 

2 Responses to “Review: Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel by Ginger Garrett”

  1. […] I really enjoyed was reading this book right after I read Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel. It really gave a new understanding to read the fiction book first that has Elijah in it and then […]

  2. […] found it interesting to read this book after I have read Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel. The books are not by the same author but many of the same people (characters show up). I think it […]


Leave a Reply

