Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Then Sings My Soul by Amy K. Sorrells March 2, 2015

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 5:38 pm
Tags: ,

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Then Sings My Soul
David C. Cook (March 1, 2015)
by
Amy Sorrells

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

An Indianapolis native and graduate of DePauw University, Amy lives with her husband, three boys and a gaggle of golden retrievers in central Indiana. After writing and editing for her college newspaper, she combined a nursing degree with journalism and creative writing, which led to publishing and editing a wide array of medical and nursing writing and multimedia projects over the past 21 years, a position as director of communications of her church’s children’s ministry, as well as a weekly column for a local newspaper which ran from 2009-2012. She has been a two-time semi-finalist for the ACFW Genesis awards, and was the winner of the 2011 Women of Faith writing contest.

When she’s not reading or writing, Amy loves spending time with her three sons; spicy lunches and art gallery walks with her husband; digging in her garden sans gloves; walking her dogs; up-cycling old furniture and junk; photography; and friends.
ABOUT THE BOOK

When Nel Stewart returns home due to the sudden death of her mother, she realizes her beloved father, Jakob, is struggling with dementia.

With the reappearance of a high-school sweetheart, deliveries from Ukraine addressed to her, and the discovery of a mysterious, vintage aquamarine gemstone, Nel senses God is pulling her into the past to restore their faith and their futures. Told partially through Jakob’s flashbacks of fleeing genocide-ridden eastern Europe at the turn of the twentieth century, the novel combines elements of mystery, history, faith and romance to reveal how God redeems the broken years … and our future.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Then Sings My Soul, go HERE.

 

My thoughts and giveaway:

What I enjoyed about this book was going back in time with Jakob. I was struck by the fact that what happens, the choices we make, has such a significant impact on our futures and our families futures.

I also was sad to see how Jakob’s mind was going. It is a slow fade that Amy portrayed nicely.

I have to be honest, initially I didn’t care for Nel. Her relationship with the Lord is very superficial and she still is really living how she wants to. I also struggled with getting a good picture of her. I wanted to make her younger than she really was and had to keep reminding myself that she is probably closer to my age or a bit older.

That being said, as the book went on I warmed up to Nel and couldn’t wait to see her open her heart up to God’s amazing grace and receive the love He wants to lavish on her.

Amy writes a book with many layers and each one is peeled back slowly and with great care. She has a way of writing that touches the heart and many issues in our broken world.

One of my favorite things about this book was part of it takes place in South Haven, Michigan. I love how Amy described Michigan in the fall and the leaves changing, the sunset over the lake. So true to this great state.

Visit Amy here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million or your favorite retailer.

Leave a comment by March 9th to be entered for your chance to win a copy of this book. (U.S. residents only. I am not responsible for books that get lost on the mail.)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.

 

9 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Then Sings My Soul by Amy K. Sorrells”

  1. Melanie Backus Says:

    I love the title of this book and It sounds like a wonderful story. I would love to read it. Thank you for the opportunity.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  2. Beth C Says:

    Looks like a great book! I think Michigan is beautiful too!

  3. D K Stevens Says:

    I liked this story line.. I enjoy reading your book !
    dkstevensneAToutlookD otCo M

  4. Melissa B. Says:

    Sounds like a beautiful story.

  5. kelly @kellyblackwell Says:

    I love stories about redemption and seeing a character grow. This sounds like a read I would enjoy.l Please include me in your drawing.

    KellysShining(at)gmail(dot)com


Leave a Reply

