Genesis 5020

Stories for His Glory

Write to the Point with Paula Mowery March 19, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:47 am
Tags: , ,

paula mToday we get write to the point with Paula Mowery. Take a minute to get to know her. She is giving away an e-copy of her book to one commentator so be sure to read until the end.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I am a pastor’s wife and a former homeschool mom who just completed educating my daughter for the whole 12 years. My hubby and I have known each other since first grade. We dated seven years before he popped the question. After seminary, as we headed off to my husband’s first church, I was pregnant. That year, 1994, saw many new and first things – new state, Maryland; new house; new church; new baby girl.

Both my husband and I grew up in East Tennessee where God saw fit to bring us back to several years ago.

Having always been interested in reading Christian literature and writing, I suppose I don’t remember a time I wasn’t doing some kind of writing. I wrote three Bible studies which I had printed or self-published for use in the churches we have served in. During the homeschooling years as my daughter became more mature and worked more independently, I started writing more on Christian fiction projects. In 2011 I prayed about whether God would want me to pursue publishing any of my stories. He affirmed me through my first book contract through Pelican Book Group for The Blessing Seer which released in 2012.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

Growing up in a Christian home, I have always known about Jesus. But, at a good ol’ revival service at my home church, I went forward after talking to my mother about the decision. I was eleven years old.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My latest book, Legacy and Love, has two contemporary romance stories. Each one contains the godly legacy of a grandmother. I hope the reader will understand that God has a plan and purpose for each of us. I also pray that they will feel the same strong urge to be intentional aboutLegacyandLove_ebook2 copy (1) the godly legacy they leave to those who come after them.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

At one of my blogs, www.paulamowery.blogspot.com, I blog mostly about what God is teaching me through short devotion thoughts. I also will feature Christian authors here. That blog is posted to at least one time a week.

My other blog was just started this year – www.ccwcu.blogspot.com – This is a blog for Christian writers. I enjoy using books that have creative writing exercises in them, but I noticed that I couldn’t locate one that was specifically for the Christian writer. I felt inspired to create a blog where Christian fiction writers could come for a creative exercise and some encouragement in their writing careers. This blog is called Creative Christian Writer’s Crank Up. One of the posts inspired a blog hop where several of us shared an exercise from the blog.

What are you reading right now?

I read a lot of Christian fiction and write a book review column for The Christian Online Magazine (www.christianonlinemagazine.com). Right now I’m reading Amanda Cabot’s With Autumn’s Return.

I read and reviewed that book on this blog. I loved it!

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

As a young married woman, I discovered that I had infertility issues. Satan certainly tried my faith in God during that time. I couldn’t understand why God would give me such a love for children and then not grant me my own. I became more bitter with each painful test until I realized that just like my thoughts aren’t like God’s, the same is true of my timing. I did end up having one baby girl when we were in our first pastorate. That was God’s timing. I wasn’t able to have other children, but I kept babies while I was at home educating my child. Providing childcare for those young couples was a blessing to me and helped those parents be able to work. We are still in touch with those children. They are like grandchildren to us but we didn’t have to marry off our daughter to get them. LOL I would have never provided care for those children if I had birthed more of my own. It is so interesting how God works. I was able to love those children and show them God’s love, and my daughter got many “siblings.”

Wow, thanks for sharing that Paula. I love you saw God’s perspective in all of that. He is good.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

I do love the verses from Proverbs 16:1-3. From the Message they read: “Mortals make elaborate plans, but God has the last word. Humans are satisfied with whatever looks good; God probes for what is good. Put God in charge of your work, then what you’ve planned will take place.”

I could have pursued publishing without regard for God, but I wouldn’t have the good that He had planned for me. Putting Him in charge has meant a great adventure!

Where can we find you on the web?

My two blogs have already been listed. I am on Facebook under my name. And, I have already shared the magazine I write for above as well.

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

Thanks for hosting me and allowing me to tell just a little bit of my story.

Thanks so much for sharing with my readers, Paula.

Readers, leave a comment for Paula by March 25th at 5:00 pm to be entered to win an e-copy of her book.

 

7 Responses to “Write to the Point with Paula Mowery”

  1. I enjoyed learning a little more about Paula Mowery, I didn’t know. She’s a wonderful author and an inspiration. I enjoy all of her novels.

  2. I enjoyed this delightful interview! These stories about the godly legacy of a grandmother sound so special! I would love to win a copy of Legacy & Love! Thank you so much for the opportunity.

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

    • paulamowery Says:

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope others will be able to relate to having such a legacy passed down to them or at least think about starting a godly legacy.

  3. I loved your interview Most of all though I want to wish you a terrific day
    God bless u
    Chris

  4. […] write to the point with Paula Mowery. She has visited us before. You can read her first interview here. Read on to see what she is up to […]


Leave a comment