Genesis 5020

Stories for His Glory

Finding Rest (or appearing “chill”) April 1, 2016

Filed under: Melissa's writing — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:06 pm
Tags:
By Jared Erondu

By Jared Erondu

Wow…I have just come out of one of the most crazy seasons in my life. Two weekends ago my high school students put on a production of The Wizard of Oz. Hence, why my Friday posts disappeared. But I’m hoping to get back on track now.

It was extremely stressful, overwhelming and a blessing.

Through this experience I saw God show up in mighty ways. Sometimes I didn’t always see it until later and other times I was keenly aware.

One verse that I clung to through these last two months was Hebrews 4:10:

For anyone who enters God’s rest also rests from their works, just as God did from his.

God continually reminded me that I needed to rest in Him and only then could I rest from my work. No matter how tired I was (which was a lot) I still pushed myself out of bed every morning to be in His presence. I couldn’t have done a day without Him.

Just the other day a teacher came up to me and said, “You were so chill.” I laughed, if only she knew the tears I cried at home (and once in front of the students) and the grumpy moments with my family.

But this isn’t the first time someone has commented that I seem so relaxed. I don’t consider myself a very relaxed person but I think the Holy Spirit projects that so others will see Him. So when I’m asked how I stay so relaxed I can say it’s Jesus.

He makes me look chill 🙂

It’s certainly not my own strength doing that, because I feel anything but chill. Jesus covers me and others see Him. Yay!! Isn’t that what we all want, what we all hope for?

The production was a complete success and I have to say it wasn’t me, it was Jesus making me look good so He can receive glory. As always, He only recieves glory if I share what He has done with others…with you 🙂

Are you stressed, running around trying to do life? Stop. Just stop. Enter His rest. Notice I said ENTER. We have to pursue it, pursue Him. Enter His rest and then your mind can rest, your body can rest and you then you can look “chill” too.

 

Leave a comment